A to Z: Kitty, Daisy & Lewis

Various Artists

Released: 1 October 2007

album: SBESTCD19

Description & tracklisting

Guardian Guide ‘Albums of the Year 2007’ – 5/5

The 4th instalment in our A to Z compilation series sees the teenage Rockabilly siblings pull together their selection of gems from the 1950s and earlier – The Roots of Rock’n’Roll.

“Some of our earliest memories are of making lots of noise on piano, guitar, banjo, ukulele, drums and harmonica. The music that came close to the energy and fire of our jam sessions was the music of the 40’s and 50’s. Whether it was Jump Blues, Swing, R’n’B or Rockabilly, all the music had one thing in common, it rocked. The musicians sounded like they were having fun. The lyrics are amusing and interesting. The rhythm has a bounce that makes you want to move. 

The sounds of these recordings are raw and honest and this helps to capture the energy – no fixing it in the mix and in many cases no mixing at all. Of course there is some great music in later decades, but this is an A-Z compilation from the 50’s and earlier to reflect the music we play live. 

We spent many long days sifting through our ipods, records and vintage 78s to pull together the gems you see and hear before you.  This compilation is scratching the surface, however, of the vast amount of musical influences that shaped modern music.

So turn up the volume and like the man says, “EVERYBODY ROCK!”
Kitty, Daisy & Lewis

This A-Z album is the fourth in the Sunday Best series; the first came from The Cuban Brothers, then Radio 1’s Annie Mac and most recently the Rob da Bank compiled A-Z of Bestival 2007.

Kitty, Daisy & Lewis’ debut artist album will be released early 2008.

Disc 1

1. Boogie Woogie Stomp - Albert Ammons

2. Bear Cat - Rufus Thomas

3. Oklahoma Stomp - Spade Cooley and His Orchestra

4. Hey Bartender - Floyd Dixon

5. The Hot Guitar - Eddie Hill

6. Jump Children - The Flamingos

7. Feelin' Good - Little Junior's Blue Flames

8. Hey Lolly Lolly - Oscar McLollie & The Honey Jumpers

9. It Ain't The Meat – The Swallows

10. School Days - Louis Jordan and His Tympany Five

11. Sag Drag & Fall - Sid King & The Five Strings

12. Louisiana Hop - Pete "Guitar" Lewis

13. Twist All Wrong - Miller-Olsen Combo

Disc 2

1. Baker Shop Boogie - Willie Nix

2. Ooo Wee - Kitty, Daisy & Lewis

3. Piano Man - Earl Hines and His Orchestra

4. Dig Them Squeaky Shoes - Andy Starr

5. Run Joe - Louis Jordan

6. Smoke! Smoke! Smoke! (That Cigarette) - Tex Williams & His Western Caravan

7. You Ain't So Such a Much - Blanche Thomas

8. Grandma's Rockin' - Unknown

9. Voo-Vee-Ah-Bee - The Platters

10. Who Put The Turtle In Myrtle's Girdle – The Western Melody Makers

11. Hot Rock - Johnny Carroll and the Hot Rocks

12. Rock-a-Bye Baby - Roy Brown

13. Honky Tonk Train Blues - Bob Zurke

More releases