Description & tracklisting

“Good to have them back making great music” Gilles Peterson

After being championed by the good people at BBC 6 Music, Number are pleased to announce the release of their debut album ‘Binary’ on a limited edition heavyweight vinyl – available to pre-order now. The special edition vinyl also includes a bonus re-worked track by the highly revered A Certain Ratio.

From the slicing live drums and jagged guitar melodies of ‘Red Flag’, the hypnotic mutant grooves of ‘Titan Shuff’, the do-it-yourself, art school approach to ‘Face Down in Ecstasy’, to the sub-tropical, funk-infused ‘Wedge’ and the sonic industrial inflections of ‘Never Change’, the duo constantly question and re-define their musical sensibilities across ten tracks of warped rhythms and loose limbed grooves.

Number enjoy the clash of old ideas with new ideas; old sounds with new sounds; acoustic with electronic. They seamlessly fuse elements of funk, jazz, post punk and noise into their own unique musical vision, which manages to be both danceable and thrilling at the same time.


A1. Red Flag
A2. Titan Shuff
A3. Tom-Tom
A4. Face Down In Ecstasy
A5. Wedge


B1. One
B2. Never Change
B3. Crocodile Pyle
B4. Nothing To Fear
B5. Where You Sound
B6. Bonus Track: Wedge – A Certain Ratio Vs Number (ACR Rework)



More releases