Return Of The Pistoleros

Dub Pistols

Released: 1 June 2015


Description & tracklisting

The mighty Dub Pistols are back with a new album Return Of The Pistoleros,  out now on Sunday Best Recordings.

From the armageddon horns and implacable bass march on opener Real Gangsters to the pure skank of Sticky Situation via collaborations including MC Earl 16, Lindy Layton, Jamaican stars Chezidek and main vocalist Seanie Tee AKA Dark Horizon, Return Of The Pistoleros is a full-on dub-quaking anthemic extravaganza built for big fields and summer sound systems. Led by internationally renowned DJ and legendary party-starter Barry Ashworth, the band currently comprises old and new Dub Pistols, including Tim Hutton who has co-written for Groove Armada, Ian Brown and the new Prodigy album. The album’s title carries its own message:

“There’s always been a bit of the outlaw in classic reggae,” explains Barry, “a bit of spaghetti western, Mexican feel. That’s how we feel. We don’t have to try to fit in any more. We’re not going to be anyone’s flavour of the month. We’ve got our crowd and we’re getting new people all the time, from the ska dads to the festival kids, and it’s all word of mouth, no marketing, just from our live show. So I thought yeah, Pistoleros. Outlaws.”

1. Pistoleros

2. Real Gangster

3. Roll & Come In

4. Sticky Situation

5. Ride Wid It

6. Fit Girl

7. Killer Sound

8. This Anthem

9. Turn Up

10. Our Life


More releases