Summer Of Dub

Dub Pistols

Released: 1 June 2009

album: SBESTCD36

Description & tracklisting

Barry Ashworth and Jason O’Bryan, aka Dub Pistols, have put together a sunshine-enhanced reggae and dub compilation entitled ‘Summer of Dub’ as a cut-price companion piece to their amazing new ‘Rum & Coke’ album.

The Dub Pistols influences run far and wide. ‘Rum & Coke’ has elements of bass heavy soul, ska, electro-funk, lovers rock, Latin and hip hop running through its veins, but it’s the Dub from the band’s name that probably has the strongest influence on their overall sound.

‘Summer of Dub’ showcases these influences with a fine selection of lesser known gems that implore you to kick back in the sunshine and crank it up loud.

1. U Brown: Blow Mr Hornsman Blow

2. Bobby Ellis & Deadly Headly: Blow Your Balloon

3. Anthony Johnson: Gunshot

4. Roots Radics: Scientist's Rain Dub

5. Bongo Herman: African Jump

6. Anthony Johnson: Take You to The Show

7. George Nooks: I've Got to Go

8. Anthony Johnson: She Afi Come a Me

9. Crucial Bunny: Gas Balloon

10. Al Campbell: Words of My Mouth


More releases